The Relationship That Wasn’t: Or, How I Spent a Year Dating Someone In My Own Head

Remember that time I kept bringing up my ex, and how in “love” I was? Oh, like, here and here. Well, even though I still believe he should be considered an EX, I’m embarrassed to finally admit to myself that the “relationship” was never nearly as serious as I believed it to be at the time. And by “never nearly” I mean like not at all.

I can count on one hand the number of times I actually SAW the Ex in the year that we, for lack of a better term, dated. Four weekends, to be specific, not counting the two weeks we spent abroad as part of a group. That and sporadic Gchat convos on the order of a few lines several times a week for a year. As for phone calls, they were so rare that I actually felt OVER THE MOON when we had like-for-real conversations chatting on the phone. Why did I think this was a relationship and that it had the potential to become something real??

Even though I feel like a fool for having made up something in my mind that was clearly a dead-end fling or whatever it was, I can only breathe a sigh of relief that it’s over, and that I didn’t do something completely inane like move to the city where he lives. And, I’m happy to report that the fauxmance was definitely a case of temporary mind-cloudedness; I’ve met several interesting guys in the last few months that I’m enjoying just getting to know, without like, pretend-dating them.

Have you ever tricked yourself into thinking a casual relationship was something more? Tell me!

Leave a comment