Conflicting Emotions: Happy Valentine’s Day!

My day is alternating between this:

and this:

Ah, bliss…slash disgust at the massive commercialization of this holiday AND at the sudden Facebook trend to change your profile pic to you and your loved one…sorry, but give me a break!

I know I said I like Valentine’s Day (I do! I think), but sweet contentment is, ironically, all the more difficult to achieve on a holiday.

Anyway, a wonderful Valentine’s Day to you and your loved ones! Enjoy this day of secret admirers, candy, flowers…and sudden bursts of love on social media for all the world to see. And if you’re feeling down, well, eat a heart-shaped cookie.

What do you think about the Facebook trend? I swear this wasn’t around last year. Is it too cute for words, or does it just exercise your gag-me reflex?

4 comments
  1. Skank Tank said:

    GAG ME! by the way I’ve missed dwindling time away on your blog. Really? You need Valentines Day to start this trend? It’s been my experience that most people in a couple usually have a picture of them and their significant other already up but for some reason this stupid thing thats been started has made most of my friends put up the mushiest pictures EVER!!! It’s gross. I don’t want to see pictures of you and your mate giving eachother eskimo kisses. Some will call me bitter and jaded but even when I was half of a couple I never put up pictures of us with our tongues down eachother’s throats. Its unnecessary, tacky and most definitely not ” ‘effin classy”

    • Pam said:

      So glad I’m not the only one who was perpetually in an “ugh” mood at my newsfeed on V Day! 😛

  2. Lily said:

    great post! as a happily single college student, i haven’t really seen the explosion of Facebook love today.. but maybe that’s because i hide all truly annoying people from my news feed. for the most part, i agree that valentine’s day has become much too commercial, and most people are too preoccupied with finding the cutest bear or the most extravagant bouquet instead of simply saying “you’re pretty awesome” or “i love you” to a loved one. people should chill out, and remember what this day is really about.
    and by the way, valentine’s day cookies really are delicious.

    • Pam said:

      “I hide all truly annoying people from my news feed”. Classic!!

Leave a Reply

