Those 7 Dreaded Words a Friend Can Say…

“There’s someone I want you to meet.”

That’s what my friend K said to me yesterday. Really, is there a more loaded statement you can hear from a friend?

Aside from feeling pressure to like someone that your friend thinks highly of (you hope), when someone thinks they’ve found a match for you, they’re judging you to some extent. You get to find out exactly what kind of person they imagine you’d be attracted to.

K’s description: a really nice guy, and someone she didn’t find that attractive, but I might. (Laugh out loud, yes she did say those words!)

Lucky for K, we’re new friends, so I wouldn’t judge her too harshly on her judgment. And I know she’s honed in on a very specific type for herself (X-colored hair and X-colored eyes), so that last remark I will let slide.

Aside from the indirect judgment call a friend passes when they want to introduce you to someone, what if you don’t like the person at all? Awkward…

Do you trust your friends’ judgments on finding you a match? Or family, for that matter?
(First Person Singular’s response: sometimes and NO.)

7 comments
  1. Hhmmm…This situation is awkward at worst, no worries!! The main aspect of this will be your relationship with your friend afterward. If the guy’s a schmuck you can get with your girl over drinks later and find out JUST WHAT IN THE HELL made her have the notion that you would like that guy!?!? Or he could be your personal prince charming and you’ll forever be in her debt.. Now normally the truth is that Mr. Mystery is somewhere in the middle with a slight leaning to either end of the spectrum (in purely un-scientific terms) Just give it a go.. I highly doubt it could be worse than some of the outings you’ve had to endure, and regardless you have more relationship material and experience for later!!

    • Pam said:

      Haha. It was a very discreet meeting, so to speak…a group outing, NOT a blind date. I would never agree to a blind date without some serious instructions and a detailed vetting process given to prospective matchmaking friends beforehand!

  2. Boom said:

    Ask lots of questions about the man’s character, activities, job?, etc. before agreeing on the date. Heck, ask your friend precisely why he/she thinks you would go out with this guy! If the guy sounds interesting enough, take a chance and go out with him. You may never know, he could be your next boyfriend, friend or distant memory.
    Me personally, I’ve never been one to do the match-making-thing. However, if I were, I’d be discreet, have a get together somewhere and invite along the two people I think may hit it off and see what happens-naturally. (well, maybe with a little prodding)

    • Boom said:

      Oh and btw, I’m having a get together at my house next weekend and I’d REALLY want you to be there! *wink*

    • Pam said:

      Totally agree – discreet get-togethers only, as I commented above in re: to Travis’ post.

      I just think matchmaking via friends is a no no for me, generally. Then again, there’re always exceptions I suppose. And um, you ARE kidding about the get together at your house, right? Ha!

  3. Skank Tank said:

    This is exactly why I don’t directly set people up (directly). On occasion I would make sure the two people are in the same social situation but its horrible awkward. I think Wedding Crashers put it best: “Janice, I apologize to you if I don’t seem real eager to jump into a forced awkward intimate situation that people like to call dating. I don’t like the feeling. You’re sitting there, you’re wondering do I have food on my face, am I eating, am I talking too much, are they talking enough, am I interested I’m not really interested, should I play like I’m interested but I’m not that interested but I think she might be interested but do I want to be interested but now she’s not interested? So all of the sudden I’m getting, I’m starting to get interested… And when am I supposed to kiss her? Do I have to wait for the door cause then it’s awkward, it’s like well goodnight. Do you do like that ass-out hug? Where you like, you hug each other like this and your ass sticks out cause you’re trying not to get too close or do you just go right in and kiss them on the lips or don’t kiss them at all? It’s very difficult trying to read the situation. And all the while you’re just really wondering are we gonna get hopped up enough to make some bad decisions? Perhaps play a little game called “just the tip”. Just for a second, just to see how it feels. Or, ouch, ouch you’re on my hair.”

    • Pam said:

      LOL!

Leave a Reply

