Cooking for One? Easy as Pie

It started out so well, my apple pie:


Why apple pie? Well, I was enticed by the saying “easy as pie.” Easy? Ok. If you say so, colloquial English expression. I also wasn’t quite ready to tackle something meatier – in recipe complexity or literally speaking.

Somehow, despite following the recipe to a T (umm, okay, I admit I used lime juice instead of Β the prescribed lemon juice – the store was out!), there wasn’t enough dough for the crust to cover the pie dish all the way around. Oh and um, I didn’t have saran wrap, so I just covered the dough for 4 hours in a bowl…but don’t I get points for improvising instead of throwing in the towel?
Thanks apple pie, I think you’re hilarious too! Hmph. Oh well – maybe next time! Next time, think I’ll buy a ready-made crust instead anyway. In my defense, the filling is DELICIOUS! Too bad I can’t eat it as a pie. But it tastes excellent as a topping to cereal or ice cream…

Upcoming to-cook list: pork chops, something to do with eggs, and some kind of simpler dessert. But I won’t bore you readers with too many details of those escapades. You know what’s still easier and funner than cooking for one? Waxing overphilosophical about relationship theories and commitment when finding one for yourself is not a priority! πŸ˜€ Stay tuned!

6 comments
  1. Sarah Shearman said:

    Try a Swedish apple pie. Tasty and simple. Three cheers for giving traditional pie a go!

    • Pam said:

      Thanks for the tip!

  2. Poison Artsnick said:

    The apple filling looks good!

    Try this–Pumpkin pie with a readymade Pilsbury crust! So easy, just use Libby’s Pumpkin Pie Mix. It’s so easy. πŸ™‚

    • Pam said:

      Thanks Poison. Yeah, I’ve definitely decided that readymade is the way to go for future pie attempts! Can’t go wrong with Pillsbury. πŸ˜€

  3. Skank Tank said:

    pie crust is probably one of the hardest things you can do, def not for beginners but props for a tasty filling tho! stick with the basics kid… SEMI-homemade will change your life.

    • Pam said:

      Haha, I realize that now! There should have been a warning. No more completely-from-scratch recipes for now.

Leave a Reply

